Cherish every moment of life

I keep trying to stay on topic, but I seem to be dealing with a lot of curve balls lately.  My husband believes that bad news comes in threes so after his Mom’s house was robbed and our good friend got mugged he was sure that the nagging pain in his gut was something serious, the third ominous issue. As we waited for the results of his blood tests we were not prepared for the call from  Wickenburg telling us that my Dad  had just died of a heart attack.  A short, gregarious Italian, Pete Matastasio had survived two previous heart attacks and a quadruple bypass. He didn’t let that sideline his zest for life and continued to live it without the restrictions the doctors recommended.  He retired from 60 years of manual work including a career as a welder, then moved to Wickenburg in 2004.  He spent his last very happy years prospecting for gold on the Arizona desert.  He was quite successful leaving behind an impressive box filled with vials of gold slivers and numerous nuggets.  We knew he was not feeling that great, but he kept quiet about the stabbing pains in his chest and arms because he knew if he called me I would cart him off to the doctor.  He vowed never to go back to the hospital again.  He refused to end his life hooked up to wires and gadgets and bottles of fluids dripping into his arm.  He would have preferred to pass on while at his favorite digging site, but at least he did not suffer.  Death stinks.  If you are facing sadness, illness or death of a loved one this holiday season my heart goes out to you.  Cherish every moment of life and give thanks that you are still around to enjoy it.

Merry Christmas

2 Responses to “Cherish every moment of life”


  1. 1 Jackie Dishner December 22, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear this news, Susan. My father-in-law died last Christmas, and my mother-in-law (both from previous marriages, but we were close nonetheless) the year before. It is, indeed, difficult dealing with the holidays while at the same time dealing with the loss of a loved one. There is nothing to do about it but grieve the way you need to. Your father sounds like he was a good man. I hope you will find peace in that.

    Hugs,
    Jackie

  2. 2 Top Dog Eileen Proctor December 22, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    Wow Susan, your eloquent post is really a great reminder of what’s important in life. My recent “mishap” (which resulted in a multi-broken ankle and some associated mobility issues) has actually been a blessing.

    I have been innundated with loving, caring friends and family that I admit were taken for granted or simply ignored in the hustle & bustle of everyday life and the “musts” of my business. My S.O. and I have grown significantly closer as I became aware of a devoted and capable person who will go to any length to ensure my comfort. And of course, my beloved fur kids who have risen to the occassion by innately coaching me through each day with alternating cuddling, entertaining and pushing the boundaries of my self imposed limitations.

    Jimmy Stewart said it best… It’s A Wonderful Life! We just have to remember it! And now I do!


Leave a Reply

