Small exhibits can produce big profits

I recently exhibited in a local Chamber of Commerce business expo. There were around 120 exhibitors offering a wide range of products and services to see. I estimate that 1200 attendees passed through in a four hour period. That’s a pretty good amount of traffic in a short period of time, especially when you compare it to the fact that the average sales person can only call on about 6-10 client in one day. The quality of the attendees was excellent, most being business owners themselves so the environment was perfect for gathering leads, finding valuable resources, branding and networking. Many of the exhibitors had tabletop displays which are economical, compact and can still make a great impression on the show floor. Unfortunately, the majority of booths I visited seemed to be under the impression that all they needed to do to get me to stop was stick a stack of flyers on the table with a bowl of candy. Hey, they were there, what else did I want? The truth is, I didn’t want anything from them because if they didn’t think enough about their company’s image to take the time to look professional why should I think they would give any attention to detail to my needs as a customer? Large or small, image is
everything on the show floor. Whether you are in the show for four hours or four days you better make a good impression. A droopy vinyl banner hung from the back curtain and a foamcore sign with the contents of your brochure printed on it will not get my attention.  Here is what will:

  • Professional signage/graphics that tell me who you are along with a short tagline or slogan that explains why I should do business with you.  (be sure to remove that awful cardboard ID sign that comes with the booth. That should not be your company sign).
  • Text that is short and sweet.  I don’t have time to read more than a few lines of text on your display.  Make sure your message conveys that you understand me, my needs and the solutions to my problems.
  • Pictures that tell the story and explain the product and how it relates to my needs. Show people in pictures using your product or service or how the product works.
  • Provide me with a simple takeaway that addresses my interests. Not a five page portfolio of your company history.  Target the needs of your audience.
  • Loose the candy bowl.  It’s not Halloween.  (unless of course you are selling candy)
  • Elevate the items on your tabletop area so you display your literature and offerings at a variety of heights.  Boxes covered with cloth or acrylic holders or baskets work well.
  • Invest in an imprinted table cover with your logo on it or at least a nice cloth that color coordinates with your exhibit.

I’ll cover more next time

2 Responses to “Small exhibits can produce big profits”


  1. 1 maricopacountyhomeshows June 14, 2011 at 10:58 am

    Great info! Love your blog!

  2. 2 susanratliff June 18, 2011 at 8:37 am

    Thanks,
    I love your home shows. I will be at the next one at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Phoenix Arizona on August 5,6,7. Need anything for the home or garden? I found my barBQ, there, my flagstone patio installer, my artificial turf guy and my custom drapery lady at a home show. Business owners take note. If you have products or services of interest to home owners, there is no other place where you can meet 30 thousand potential customers in three days. See you there


Leave a Reply

