Reflecting on life

Ok, so this is not about exhibiting.  It’s 10:44 PM on July 3rd.  Thirty one years ago my younger sister died in a drunken driving accident.  Six kids in the car.  Three lived, three died.  She was 15 years old.  I called my Mom today,  as I do this time every year, to reflect on life.  You never get over the death of a child.  She still cannot look at her picture.  Tomorrow will be one year ago that my husband Carey’s Father died.  He was 83.  A Marine.  (you’re never an ex-marine)  I used to love this holiday. Now it holds new meaning.  I wanted to keep this post short so I will end with a wish:  May our soldiers be safe, thank you for your service and God Bless America. 

SR

6 Responses to “Reflecting on life”


  1. 1 MrAchievement (Stanley Bronstein) July 3, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    Susan:

    Today’s blog post is a perfect example of the person you are.

    You talk about something very traumatic that happened to you over 30 years ago and while it still affects you to this day, you’ve obviously moved on.

    That is who you are and what you are all about. It is also why you are successful.

    Stanley Bronstein
    http://stanleybronstein.com
    MrAchievment

  2. 2 Jackie Dishner July 4, 2008 at 8:23 am

    Susan,

    I’m sorry about your sister; I’m glad you have your mom to share her memory with.

    Peace,
    Jackie

  3. 3 Beth Terry July 6, 2008 at 11:04 am

    Susan – It never goes away, that feeling of “What if…” – My deepest sympathy is with you and your family on the death of your sister and father-in-law. When a young life is taken, even 30 years later it hurts. And even though we expect our parents to go before us, it’s never an easy passage.

    My father died 21 years ago and I still miss him. It would be fun to have him here while I reinvent myself. And, my little brother, the youngest of 8 kids, died 16 weeks ago today. Too young, too soon. It does make you look at life a little differently. It helped me live in the now and be more conscious of the gift of every day.

    Take care,
    Beth

  4. 4 Suzanne Holman July 6, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    Susan, I appreciated your recent posts…loved hearing about your start in the booth blinging business….who would have thought that a baby in
    a playpen was your early bling?! You painted a great picture of you and your booth.

    How very difficult it must be to lose a sister so tragically. I can not even begin to imagine how that would feel and how it still is for your family today.

    Suzanne

  5. 5 Andrea July 8, 2008 at 11:50 am

    Hi Susan. I understand your grief. My grandmother died on July 4th. I still think about her, as she was an important person in my life. I cannot imagine losing a child, nor do I want to. Thanks for sharing this.

    Andrea

  6. 6 susanratliff July 15, 2008 at 11:34 pm

    Thank you everyone for your warm responses. Sharing a sad experience always seems to bring people closer. I appreciate your concern and kind words.
    SR


Leave a comment