Meeting Professionals International learns about tradeshows

Last week I had the pleasure of speaking at the first ever AZMPI Educational Conference organized by the Sunbelt Chapter of Meeting Professionals International.  www.azmpi.org. Chapter President Deborah Gardner and Conference Chair Mike Stawiarski put on a super event.  I taught a workshop about how meeting planners and service suppliers can maximize their relationships at tradeshows.  It was a gorgeous day at the Mesa Convention center where I met some interesting and talented people and took notes from some great speakers.  I learned how to maximize my Linked In account www.linkedin.com with that social networking guru Chip Lambert from www.network2networth.com.  It is amazing how many people around the world are tapping into this form of communication. Linked In is geared to businesses so if you are a business owner I urge you to jump on this bandwagon or you will be missing out on a powerful marketing tool.  We also heard from the Chairman of the Board, Larry Luteran, who also happens to be a Senior Vice President of Hilton Hotels.  The economy might be down, but Hilton isn’t worried.  they are building an obscene number of new hotels around the world, as we speak.  One of the highlights of my day was hearing the side-splitting rantings of the one and only Professional Summerizer in existence. Dale Irvin is a humorist who has a quick wit and keen perspective about the things around him.  He did a terrific job as the MC for the day. If you want a laugh go to www.DaleIrvin.com.  If I wasn’t giving a workshop I would have attended some of the other sessions myself.  I heard that Arlene Rosenberg, Ed Scannell and Lisa Barham did a fabulous job.  I was just honored to be there among such a powerful group of people.  I admire the efforts of the meeting professionals and the suppliers that plan, produce and support the millions of events, conferences, tradeshows and meetings that happen around the world.  It is through their behind the scenes efforts that we experience the fantastic education, entertainment, food and fun we enjoy countless times a year at these functions.  I had never been to the outdoor amphitheater at the Mesa Convention Center and really loved our lunch on the lawn.  It was a beautiful day and we followed up the Conference with a cool coctail party on the patio at the Marriott next door.  Just thought you might like to know.  Also, if you are looking for a really fun career, check out the options in the hospitality and meetings industry and join MPI to get connected.

0 Responses to “Meeting Professionals International learns about tradeshows”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment